When You Don’t Get What You Want

kid-cryingHave you ever wanted something so bad that you could visualize yourself with it? You could see, hear, and almost taste it? Then, you didn’t get it. What does that feel like? Well…it feels like crap.

This is where you have a choice: you can either let it get you down and ruin your whole outlook on things or you can look at it as an opportunity to grow. Recently, I didn’t get something I really wanted. I also got some feedback on my latest project that was, well…let’s say it didn’t make me feel like running around telling the world how wonderful life is. The feedback was honest, supportive, and helpful but it was not what I wanted to hear. 

Thinking I was so enlightened, I took the feedback and the let down from not getting what I wanted and said to myself, “Okay, it’s not great but try to look at the bright side.” I listed off all the reasons why it could be a good thing in the long run and I felt okay. Then it hit me. That voice, the one you try not to listen to but it’s there constantly haranguing you about why you are such a loser. “You’re a sham. You’re a fraud. What makes you think you can do this? You can’t even find your car keys that you lost a month ago!”

Again, you have a choice: listen to and give that voice more power or kindly show that voice the door and kick it in the ass on the way out. So, I said, “Thank you for your observations but you are wrong. You need to go away now.” The voice didn’t leave without a fight, that would be too easy. But it is getting fainter the more I tell it to get the heck out of dodge.

The power is at the moment when you realize that you have a choice. It happens millions of times a day but we often forget about it. I know I do. Just being conscious of that moment is the very beginning of something truly wonderful.

I still didn’t get what I wanted and I still have to decide what to do with the feedback I didn’t want to hear BUT I don’t feel like a loser because I chose not to. You can too.

3 thoughts on “When You Don’t Get What You Want

  1. feltrinelly February 22, 2013 at 5:47 pm Reply

    adorable!!!!!!!

  2. meleah rebeccah February 24, 2013 at 9:22 pm Reply

    ” you can either let it get you down and ruin your whole outlook on things or you can look at it as an opportunity to grow. ”

    Very true. Although not always so easy!

  3. DanaLeipold February 25, 2013 at 7:38 pm Reply

    Not easy at all. When I didn’t get something I truly thought I wanted and deserved recently, I actually went to that crappy place first. You know, the one where you listen to that stupid voice that says, “You’ll never be able to do it because the universe just told you NO! Why do you even keep trying? Give up already!” I allowed that voice to seep in and for a day or two I believed it. Then after I decided that I didn’t like hanging out with that stupid voice, I said, “SHUT UP!” The voice didn’t shut up right away but the more I decided to not listen, the fainter it became. I’m still bruised a bit from not getting what I want but now I’m asking myself, “How bad do you want it? What are you willing to do, or sacrifice to get it?” That voice sounds better.

Leave a Reply

